• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Exchange Server Forums

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

5.5 to 2k3; ADC connection agreement wizrd-5.5 server in correct org?

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 2003] >> Migration >> 5.5 to 2k3; ADC connection agreement wizrd-5.5 server in correct org? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
5.5 to 2k3; ADC connection agreement wizrd-5.5 server i... - 20.Sep.2008 3:32:10 AM   
wrollins

overview:
exchange migration newbie here looking to migrate/upgrade exchange 5.5 to a separate server running exchange 2003 within the same domain but running into problems with ADC connection agreement wizard... servers are in "different orgs"

background:
- single forest topology in domainABC
- email@domain1.com is being hosted by exchange 5.5 server joined to domainABC
- email@domain2.com is being hosted by exchange 2k3 server also joined to domainABC
- trying to get this new exchange 2k3 server to take the place of the old exchange 5.5 server and begin hosting/administering all the yet-to-be migrated mailboxes for email@domain1.com

went through the wizard step by step trying to add the new exchange 2k3 server and ran forestprep, domainprep, etc...

ADC Tools errors out at step 4 trying to run the connection agreement wizard with "Error: The organization o=domain2 is already installed into this forest but the configured 5.5 server is a member of organization o=domain1. Please choose a 5.5 server in the correct Org."

adsiedit.msc indeed reveals the presence of the exchange 2003 server hosting email@domain2.com within the same domain but obviously shows nothing for the exchange 5.5 server hosting email@domain1.com because there is no AD integration with exchange 5.5.....