• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Exchange Server Forums

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Access OWA Externally

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 2000] >> Outlook Web Access >> Access OWA Externally Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Access OWA Externally - 22.Dec.2003 6:40:00 PM   
Biggsmatt

I'm a little new at this, so bear with me. My company has Exchange 2000 installed and everything is working great. We want to setup OWA so that people can access their e-mail from the web. Now, I know OWA is installed by default with E2K, and we can access it just fine internally at http://servername/exchange but I have no clue how to set it up so that it points to a url like http://mail.company.com.

We already have a seperate IIS server and our firewall is set to forward all requests on port 80 to that machine. So I'm kind of clueless as to how to proceed. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

[ December 22, 2003, 06:40 PM: Message edited by: Biggsmatt ]
Post #: 1
RE: Access OWA Externally - 25.Dec.2003 12:14:00 AM   
wiscy

When you registered your domain, company.com you listed 2 DNS servers like ns1.nameserver.com. And those servers control the zone information for the domain. So create a DNS entry there that maps "mail" or "owa" or whatever you choose to the public IP (WAN IP) of the firewall. And as you said when the requests come in to the firewall they get passed off to the IIS box that handles OWA.

Then externally you'd access OWA using:
http://owa.company.com/exchange

(in reply to Biggsmatt)
Post #: 2
RE: Access OWA Externally - 27.Dec.2003 3:13:00 AM   
Biggsmatt