• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Exchange Server Forums

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Any advice for installing SP4 for Exchange 5.5?

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 5.5] >> General >> Any advice for installing SP4 for Exchange 5.5? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Any advice for installing SP4 for Exchange 5.5? - 30.Mar.2006 2:39:16 PM   
andyc_selway

Hello Exchange gurus,

I have Exchange 5.5 Standard Edition (service pack 3) running on a Windows NT 4.0 (service pack 6a).

I would like to apply Exchange service pack 4 but (as I'm relatively new to Exchange server) wanted to ask if there are any potential issues I might come across.  Any pre-work I should do before applying the service pack?

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Andy.
Post #: 1
RE: Any advice for installing SP4 for Exchange 5.5? - 31.Mar.2006 9:20:20 AM   
zbnet

Andy

This is an old server!  If you've never done Exchange support before, you need to tread carefully.  I hope you've got a bood book on Exchange 5.5, and good documentation of your current system.  Unfortunately all the 5.5 knowledge you need to aquire over the next few months will really be wasted as this technology is so old.

Before you upgrade to SP4, you need to take good backups.  In fact, I recommend the DR whitepaper as your most important reading if you have support responsibilities for a 5.5 server.  The server has been running quite happily on SP3 for some years now, so a few more weeks won't hurt, whilst you get up to speed.  http://www.microsoft.com/technet/prodtechnol/exchange/55/support/exdisrec.mspx