• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Exchange Server Forums

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Deleted user account

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 2003] >> Information Stores >> Deleted user account Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Deleted user account - 28.Dec.2007 8:01:51 AM   
tomt

 

Posts: 27
Joined: 20.Nov.2006
Status: offline
I ran into a situation yesterday on a user account which was corrupt and had to be deleted from AD (Win 2003).  However, her mailbox was not deleted from Exchange (2003).  When the user was recreated, a new mailbox was also created for her using her original username.  Now there are two mailboxes with the same username. 

Is it possible to connect the user to her old mailbox?  I tried adding the mailbox to her Outlook but it tells me the user "has already been added to the mailbox list" since she's using the same name.  If she can't be connected to her old mailbox, is there any way that mailbox can be recovered then imported into her Outlook?

Tom
Post #: 1
RE: Deleted user account - 28.Dec.2007 8:12:57 AM   
ismail.mohammed

 

Posts: 3018
Joined: 9.May2007
From: India
Status: offline
hi mate,

User A Deleted...
So in Exchange : User A mailbox will be disconnected.

When you create a User A account with mailbox you will see UserA@abc.com (new mailbox) and disconnected mailbox also.

So what you need to do here is:
UserA => Properties => Exchange Task => remove Exchange Attributes.

After this you will two mailbox disconnected

Right click the old mailbox and click on connect : add userA as a association for that mailbox.

This should resolve your issue.

(in reply to tomt)
Post #: 2
RE: Deleted user account - 28.Dec.2007 8:36:20 AM   
tomt

 

Posts: 27
Joined: 20.Nov.2006
Status: offline
Great.  Thanks.  That worked however, when I open Outlook now I get a message that says..."Exchange is working in recovery mode. You can either connect to the Exchange server using the network, work offline, or cancel this logon."  When I click on Connect, it connects to the mailbox but I only see a few of her emails, not all 4000+ emails she has in there.

(in reply to ismail.mohammed)
Post #: 3
RE: Deleted user account - 28.Dec.2007 8:40:20 AM   
ismail.mohammed

 

Posts: 3018
Joined: 9.May2007
From: India
Status: offline
hi,

Open the outlook => File => Work Offline => Uncheck it.

it should show you whatever the message you have in the exchange server. Just re-confirm it.

Did any rules configured?

(in reply to tomt)
Post #: 4
RE: Deleted user account - 28.Dec.2007 8:55:28 AM   
tomt

 

Posts: 27
Joined: 20.Nov.2006
Status: offline
I don't see Work Offline under File.  In the lower right, it shows she is Onlie however, I can't left click that to bring up it's context menu.  Could it just be taking a long time for her messages to get in?  But if that were the case wouldn't I see some progress?

I'm not sure that she had any rules configured but I don't think so.

(in reply to ismail.mohammed)
Post #: 5
RE: Deleted user account - 28.Dec.2007 9:05:17 AM   
tomt

 

Posts: 27
Joined: 20.Nov.2006
Status: offline
I think I know what's happening.  Earlier, when I was in System Manager, I noticed the user's mailbox had a red X on it like it was to be deleted.  Once I reconnected the user to the mailbox, the red X went away and now I'm getting messages in Outlook saying Exchange is "in recovery mode".

Is it possible Exchange had flagged the mailbox and it's contents to be deleted but when I reconnected the user Exchange had to remove the "flag" from the mailbox  thus "recovering" the mailbox and it's contents?

Does that make sense?

(in reply to tomt)
Post #: 6
RE: Deleted user account - 28.Dec.2007 9:07:13 AM   
ismail.mohammed

 

Posts: 3018
Joined: 9.May2007
From: India
Status: offline
hi,

When you open the outlook and click on file
you willl see down key arrow mark just below exit option, click on that down key arrow mark you will able to see "work offline" make sure that is unchecked.

(in reply to tomt)
Post #: 7
RE: Deleted user account - 28.Dec.2007 9:10:16 AM   
ismail.mohammed

 

Posts: 3018
Joined: 9.May2007
From: India
Status: offline
hi,
You are right
When you disconnect the mailbox, it will be marked for delention and kept in the server database till the retention period get expired.

(in reply to tomt)
Post #: 8
RE: Deleted user account - 28.Dec.2007 9:20:08 AM   
tomt

 

Posts: 27
Joined: 20.Nov.2006
Status: offline
Ok, great.  Thanks.  It's odd that the Work Offline is not showing up under File.  Perhaps this has to do with the Exchange being in "recovery" mode and it doesn't give her the option.

(in reply to ismail.mohammed)
Post #: 9
RE: Deleted user account - 28.Dec.2007 10:17:35 AM   
ismail.mohammed

 

Posts: 3018
Joined: 9.May2007
From: India
Status: offline
lets wait till it recover.

(in reply to tomt)
Post #: 10
RE: Deleted user account - 28.Dec.2007 5:34:10 PM   
djalil

 

Posts: 4
Joined: 27.Dec.2007
Status: offline
I don't think it will. I may be wrong but if I remember correctly Recovery Mode is just a temporary way of recovering the user's emails manually (so you can run Outlook and copy the mails to a local folder).

I think your best bet is not to reconnect a mailbox to the new account but simply to use EXMERGE to extract emails from the old mailbox to a PST file, and then to import it back into the new mailbox.

(in reply to ismail.mohammed)
Post #: 11
RE: Deleted user account - 28.Dec.2007 11:04:36 PM   
ismail.mohammed

 

Posts: 3018
Joined: 9.May2007
From: India
Status: offline
hi,

User mailbox got disconnected, so inorder to get back the mail he needs to connect to the mailbox
Once he is able to connect it through outlook and able to see all mails why we need of exmerge.

Exmerge will take the mail into pst as you said but how it will get all mails because user is already connected to the mailbox and able to connect through outlook. Moreover if i want to take pst it should be my last step because it will loose my single instance.


(in reply to djalil)
Post #: 12

Page:   [1] << Older Topic    Newer Topic >>
All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 2003] >> Information Stores >> Deleted user account Page: [1]
Jump to:

New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Follow TechGenix on Twitter