• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Exchange Server Forums

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Exchange 2007 SP1 Accepted Domains Routing Gotcha

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 2007] >> Message Routing >> Exchange 2007 SP1 Accepted Domains Routing Gotcha Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Exchange 2007 SP1 Accepted Domains Routing Gotcha - 15.Jun.2009 7:46:13 PM   
mudtoe

Hi folks:

I'm new to Exchange 2007 (new to Exchange, period), and I've just spend about two days trying to figure out why incoming mail wasn't routing to my accepted domain server from Exchange.  I was trying to setup Exchange so that it would forward incoming mail that wasn't for a user defined to Exchange to another email server that shares the same namespace, as a migration aid (eventually Exchange will take over the entire namespace).  I created the accepted domain, and created an email address rule so that users I defined to Exchange could receive emails with the same domain name as the existing server.  However, whenever Exchange received an email from the internet that didn't match a userid it had on file, it rejected it, telling the sender "550 5.1.1 User unknown".  It accepted emails for userids defined to it just fine, and it forwarded emails created by OWA users connected to it to the accepted domain just fine as well.