• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Exchange Server Forums

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Exchange Global Catalog for transition

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 2000] >> Migration >> Exchange Global Catalog for transition Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Exchange Global Catalog for transition - 22.Apr.2009 10:37:02 AM   
MartinL

Hi there,
As I am a total newbie in Exchange thing, I want to do the transition step by step referring to Henrik Walther's tutorial.
He says that I should have no Active directory 2000 in my domain, but that I will have to live with it as My Exchange 2000 in a DC 2000 !

But what seams to be important, is that no DC 2000 have to be global catalog.
I tried to change the GC reference in Exchange by following this site: Change Exchange GC.
And then I remove my exchange server from the GC.
Once I did it, the exchange stop working, cannot restart Information store service, and got a LOT of error in the event log !
I had to set exchange GC back to it self, and re-check the Global catalog in "sites and services" for this server.

If Henrik Walther says :
quote:

You must make sure that the Domain Controller that is the schema master in your Active Directory runs Windows Server 2003 with at least Service Pack 1 applied Mine is. This is also true for any Global Catalog servers in each Active Directory site in which you plan on deploying Exchange 2007

Do you guys think I can still do the transition leaving my Exchange 2000 on DC 2000 with GC activated ??

Thank you so much !
I was planning on installing that Exchange 2007 today but I guess I'll wait for an answer since I just passed the last 2 hours trying to see what could have went wrong with my Exchange after I remove the GC !!

Martin L.
Post #: 1