• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Exchange Server Forums

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Messages sit in Outbox after migration to Exchange

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 2003] >> Migration >> Messages sit in Outbox after migration to Exchange Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Messages sit in Outbox after migration to Exchange - 7.Jan.2009 11:06:51 AM   
wjlabs

Hi,

I'm kind of new to Exchange, so any help here is appreciated.
I migrated a few mailboxes for one of my users from a different MTA (Zimbra) to Exchange 2003 Standard edition. The procedure that I followed consisted basically in:
- creating a PST of each user's mailbox from Outlook in the old mail (Zimbra) system
- import the PST into their Exchange account through Outlook in the new Exchange system.

I tried using ExMerge to import the PST files into the Exchange mailboxes, but ExMerge would fail every time because the PSTs were originally created using Outlook 2003 and I believe ExMerge is a tool that was developed for Exchange 5.5. and Outlook 2000, so some of the formating changes introduced in Outlook 2003 cause it to generate errors when working with PST files in that format.

The problem that I'm seeing now is that when users try to forward or reply to old messages, the messages just sit in the Outbox. This does NOT happen with new messages received after the migration.
I have made sure that the messages are being sent to valid addresses, that there's nothing wrong with the message, that the communication between client and server is ok.
I enabled logging in Outlook and here's what I get

2009.01.07 10:49:02 Outlook Address Book: Synch operation started (flags = 00000001)
2009.01.07 10:49:02 Outlook Address Book: UploadItems: 1 messages to send