• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Exchange Server Forums

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

OoOA - A better way

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 2003] >> Exchange 2003 SBS >> OoOA - A better way Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
OoOA - A better way - 18.Aug.2009 7:37:10 PM   
AlaskaRob

So, I'm an admin of a small network, around 20 people. One or two of them insists on using her Out-of-Office Assistant when she's away. The problem is, I'm seeing that when she does this, the server gets backed up with all these OoOA messages to spammers whose addresses dont' even exist. So they sit in the queue and take up space. My Exchange is getting overloaded from this.

So two things, one, is there an alternative that anyone can think of? For example, is there anyway I could set it to only send to people in her addressbook? or is there a way I can at least have it check to see whether the message got sent to her SPAM folder first?!

Other than that, is outlook not supposed to be bogged down by that sort of thing? is it possible that something else is wrong with the server?
Post #: 1
RE: OoOA - A better way - 18.Aug.2009 10:57:03 PM   
uemurad

While those outbound messages to nowhere appear in the queues, they are only being sent once every six hours for 48 hours (by default unless you change the Exchange configuration) then are discarded.  That shouldn't be overloading Exchange by any means.  What exactly do you mean when you say your server is getting bogged down?

The OOF (that's the Microsoft designation) message can be blocked from going outside.  The setting is in the System Manager.  Expand Global Settings and Internet Message Format.  Right click on Default and open the properties.  The setting is on the Advanced tab.