• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Exchange Server Forums

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Size of PRIV.EDB abnormally high?

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 2003] >> Information Stores >> Size of PRIV.EDB abnormally high? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Size of PRIV.EDB abnormally high? - 21.Mar.2005 11:16:00 PM   
I'm just beginning the process of moving mailboxes from an Exchange 5.5 server onto a new Exchange 2003 server. I've moved a bunch of mailboxes using the "Move Mailbox" utility and it's worked great. However, the PRIV.EDB file is considerably larger than the size of all the mailboxes as being reported by the Exchange Manager. On my old Exchange 5.5 server there are about 14GB of messages, and the PRIV.EDB file is only 9.5GB. The inverse seems to be happening with Exchange 2003. Any ideas why the PRIV.EDB file would be so much larger than the total mailbox size being reported by the Exchange manager?
  Post #: 1
RE: Size of PRIV.EDB abnormally high? - 22.Mar.2005 3:35:00 PM   
dghost

Read this, it may help you...

(in reply to Guest)
Post #: 2
RE: Size of PRIV.EDB abnormally high? - 22.Mar.2005 3:42:00 PM   
billyjoejimbob

Hi Alex, thanks for the info. I actually did an offline defrag already but it didn't reduce the size of the PRIV.EDB by much. After doing so, the Exchange Manager is still reporting that the total size of the mailboxes is about 500MB, and the PRIV.EDB file is about 850MB.

(in reply to Guest)
Post #: 3
RE: Size of PRIV.EDB abnormally high? - 22.Mar.2005 3:59:00 PM   
dghost

It's a little bit confusing with everything you said so far. On your first post, you said:
quote: