• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Exchange Server Forums

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

server specs

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 2003] >> Installation >> server specs Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
server specs - 30.Jan.2005 8:18:00 PM   
terry712

i'm afraid i'm very new to exchange so a bit clueless

i'm just starting testing on an upgrade from 5.5 to 2003 , i'm going to use completely new hardware though . in my testing lab - the exchange 5.5 are bdc's to replicate current setup, the confusing thing was that it allowed me to upgrade the forest and domain level to 2003 with these in place - i didnt think it was suppose to allow this - is it best to do this or ?

also i if i login to someone who has email still on a 5.5 box - the address book has duplicate entries for everyone , login as a new 2003 account and the address book is ok - is this something i have screwed up on or is it a tick or something.

sorry for so long

i'm going to use two servers for exchange and was thinking of another one for owa - is this the preferred or ?

also what way should the disks be setup.
i will probably use dl380's with a split backblane so that i have 2 array controllers - raid 1 for the os and some logs or whatever - and then not sure if it's better to be raid 1 or 5 (docs seem to switch)
Post #: 1
RE: server specs - 30.Jan.2005 9:19:00 PM   
Henrik Walther

Below MS Papers willgive you answers to all your migration questions:

Download details: Upgrading Exchange 5.5 to Exchange 2003 in a Medium-Sized Organization:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=38F816A4-FB6A-4CDB-991C-2D8FF73B5CE5&displaylang=en

Exchange Server 2003 Deployment Guide:
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/prodtechnol/exchange/2003/library/depguide.mspx