• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Exchange Server Forums

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Delete old server advice

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 5.5] >> General >> Delete old server advice Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Delete old server advice - 16.Jun.2006 2:15:25 AM   
weisshole

 

Posts: 11
Joined: 16.Jun.2006
Status: offline
I recently took over an exchange 5.5 server.  I am currently working on clean up of the environment before migrating to exchange 2003.  I found that there are two exchange servers listed, but I only know of one.  Anyway from asking around the other server used to be the first server in the site.  So I pulled up article Q152959 and started going through it.  I have verified that the OAB had been moved to the current server, the Free/Busy had been replicated and moved.  I went through all public folders and mailboxes and made sure they were homed on the current server as well as DL expand on the current server.  I check to make sure that routing calculation had been set for the current server.  I have tested generating a OAB, and know of no major problems are having with exchange.  The only things that I find that point to the old server is the MSMail and CCMail connectors that show up under connections and the server name.  I do see from looking at the application event log, MTA event 9318 warnings, about not being able to connect to the old server.  Is there more I should check before I highlight the server and click delete, or can I go ahead and click the delete.  Please advise, as I really want to clean this up before start migrating to exchange 2003.
Post #: 1
RE: Delete old server advice - 19.Jun.2006 10:01:48 AM   
zbnet

 

Posts: 1019
Joined: 25.Sep.2003
From: York, UK
Status: offline
You have been very thorough in your checks, however this is all a bit academic if the original serve has already been turned off!  The checks are only really of value before you turn off the original server.  As of now, it sounds like you've only got the one server working in the site, so it has to be doing everything you've got.  Any problems with reference to the first server would have been seen when it was first turned off.

To be sure, first ensure you have a successful full online backup of your remaining Exchange server (although you should be doing one of those every night and checking its success every morning anyway...).  Then on that server's Admin, simply select the first server and press the Delete key on your keyboard.  Admin will try and contact the server just to make sure it's really turned off, ask you for confirmation, and then remove it from the directory.

(in reply to weisshole)
Post #: 2

Page:   [1] << Older Topic    Newer Topic >>
All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 5.5] >> General >> Delete old server advice Page: [1]
Jump to:

New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Follow TechGenix on Twitter