• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Exchange Server Forums

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Advice For An Exchange n00b

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 2003] >> Installation >> Advice For An Exchange n00b Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Advice For An Exchange n00b - 19.Dec.2006 6:31:20 PM   
accesslist7

Hello,

Before I ask my question, I just thought I'd mention that this is a really nice Exchange community you guys have here :)

I am primarily a network admin who has found himself in charge of our organization's two Exchange servers, Server A and Server B we shall call them.

Server A is on a crusty ancient piece of hardware that looks like it might die any day now. I need to buy and configure the new hardware and am looking for some advice.

Both servers are running Windows Server 2003 / Exchange 2003 Standard w SP2. They are not in a front/back end configuration.

Each server has approx 50 users on it. Server A also runs OWA and ActiveSync. Server A receives on average 822 emails per day, and sends out approx the same amount. The database size is currently 24GB (edb + STM). Checking the DB file size history before I came into the picture, it appears that this mail DB grows by about 2GB per year.

Checking the current disk configuration, it looks like this. Three disks on RAID5, split into three partitions C,D,E. OS lives on C, Exchange program,logs, and DB on E.

I've read through the whole forum here trying to get an idea for how the new server should be laid out. It has been suggested that it should look something like this:

RAID 1 - OS and Exchange program files
RAID 1 - Transaction logs
RAID 5 - Exchange DB

I have priced out a new server and have come up with this:

Dell 2950
2x Xeon 5110
4GB RAM
2x 36GB SAS
4X 73GB SAS