Upgrading Exchange5.5 to Exchange 2000 (Full Version)

All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 2000] >> Migration

visa001 -> Upgrading Exchange5.5 to Exchange 2000 (22.May2007 3:19:09 PM)

Hello everyone,

This is my first time to post new thread. I try to post Exchange2000->Migration,  not sure if i post it correctly. Thanks for reading.

I will deploy a project--upgrading Exchange5.5 to Exchange 2000.Here is the main steps:
1. backup current Exchange5.5 data
2. install Windows2K server w/Exchange 2000 from scratch.(not replacing server hardware,
Windows2k server and Exchange 2000 server are located in the same server)
3. recover Exchange5.5 data on New windows2000 w/Exchange 2000 server
I got a few questions here.
1. Should Domain name keep the same?
2. Should I run Active Directory connetcor for recovering Exchange5.5 data?

Hope to share experience with you. Thanks for your reply.

Howard

Background:
Exchange5.5 installed on Windows2000 server A,
Users in WindowsNT 4.0 server B,

After migrating:
Remove WindowsNT 4.0 server B,
Reinstall windows server A,  install Exchange2000 on it, A will be Domain Controller

master001 -> RE: Upgrading Exchange5.5 to Exchange 2000 (24.May2007 11:26:32 AM)

Any opinion everybody?

Howard

pjhutch -> RE: Upgrading Exchange5.5 to Exchange 2000 (31.May2007 9:34:57 AM)

I do not think you can restore a Exchange 5.5 Database to a a Exchange 2000 database. You need Exchange 5.5 running to migrate mailboxes or you should export mailboxes to PST files and then import them into the new Exchange 2000 environment if not keeping existing setup.

jassyca -> RE: Upgrading Exchange5.5 to Exchange 2000 (31.May2007 3:12:12 PM)

I am totally *positive* you cannot restore an Exchange 5.5 database to an Exchange 2000 server. Nope nope nope, no can do.