• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Exchange Server Forums

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Exchange not sending/receiving e-mail

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 2003] >> Exchange 2003 SBS >> Exchange not sending/receiving e-mail Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Exchange not sending/receiving e-mail - 3.Jul.2007 7:34:26 PM   
griswold

Good Day everyone,
I am at a loss as to how to solve the problem we are encountering.  I am pretty technical guy who has done IT support before, so I'm not a complete noob, but I am relatively new to the whole Exchange arena.  I am working for a startup company and I am running into some problems with Exchange.

We ordered some Dell servers, and one of them had SBS2003 installed, as we are not a big company, we figured this would suffice for a while.  It was right out of the box from Dell, and we finished the configuration of the server, and I deployed a test profile to my own desktop just to see how things were working.  Here is where things go horribly wrong.

First off we have a FQDN registered, and records setup on our DNS server, including the infamous MX record!  The domain resolves to our domain name just fine and it's pingable.  However, when I startup Outlook for the first time on my profile, I can neither send or receive e-mail, either internally or externally.  We tried sending an e-mail to our SBS2003 server from an external source, and after checking the firewall and exchange logs, we were able to conclude that the mail got routed to the box okay, however the last message in the log says Undeliverable Mail.

I've tried it with the POP3, IMAP, etc. connectors on and off and on and off, etc......and nothing seems to help.