Set up to the outside world... (Full Version)

All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 2003] >> Installation

cwallace -> Set up to the outside world... (30.Jan.2008 1:58:43 PM)

I have a fresh install of Exchange 2003 on a Win 2k3 box. That box is a member of the domain controlled by a Win 2k box.

I have a domain name to use and the DC has an established outside IP address.

I am trying to figure out how I make the Exchange box live to the outside world...Not sure really how to even explain it, but it is probably something really stupid simple.

Should I point the domain name to the IP of the DC and then somehow route through the DC to the Exchange box?

I am trying to trace how traffic flows though here...I am new to exchange and the more advanced internal routing with Windows Servers, but eager and willing to learn...

Any help at this point would be awesome...

Chris

a.grogan -> RE: Set up to the outside world... (30.Jan.2008 2:49:57 PM)

Hey Chris a couple of q's to clarify if you don't mine chap;

You say that "you have a domain name to use" and the "DC has an External IP address" - do you mean that you have an external domain such as "chris.com" and you wish to point e-mail access to it. - you should not (under any circumstances) have a DC with an external IP address to the internet.

What you are looking to do is create an MX record (mail exchanger) for your domain which points to an IP address on your Firewall (in the outside world).
This IP address should then have an access list that translates and routes port 25 traffic to the internal IP address of the SMTP virtual server of your Exchange server.

Lets us know,

Cheers
A

cwallace -> RE: Set up to the outside world... (30.Jan.2008 3:13:13 PM)

Hmm...let me think this one through.

Well...our DC has an outside IP address that is assigned through a firewall...so no it isn't actually ON the DC...so that is no worry...I understand what you mean there...heh...