• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Exchange Server Forums

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Can't connect to Exchange 2003 Front End Server

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 2003] >> Installation >> Can't connect to Exchange 2003 Front End Server Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Can't connect to Exchange 2003 Front End Server - 5.Jun.2008 6:00:37 PM   
ghopper02

I have a working SMTP gateway server / Exchange 2003 server / Windows 2003 Active Directory setup with about 50 users - this has been running fine for a year or so.

I'm learning Exchange as I go - having moved from 5.5 to 2003 successfully, I'm not a newbie, but I'm by no means an expert either!

I have installed another Exchange 2003 server (regular vanilla install) and set it to "Front end mode" with the check box after the install was complete. This will eventually be our OWA & gateway email server in the DMZ, but for now I have it inside and in the same subnet, etc as all the other servers & workstations (so there are no firewalls between machines).

I have setup & secured OWA with an SSL certificate and have enabled forms-based authentication.

Now for the problems...

1) I am able to connect to the OWA logon page but it will not allow me to sign on - it returns me to the logon page with just the username filled in. It displays no error message, just returns to the logon page as many times as you are willing to enter a password and click "Logon". What is strange is that it also sets a frame up on the left side of the webpage and opens all subsequent logon screens in the right 2/3 of the screen.

So... I figured I'd back up a step and try to connect directly to the front end server with an Outlook client (happens to be Outlook 2000). This results in problem #2...