• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Exchange Server Forums

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Exchange 2000 -> Exchange 2007 Transition

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 2007] >> Installation >> Exchange 2000 -> Exchange 2007 Transition Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Exchange 2000 -> Exchange 2007 Transition - 19.Aug.2008 10:34:47 AM   
echotester

I am beginning the initial stages of transitioning from Exchange 2000 to Exchange 2007 for one of my clients.  This is my first time with the Exchange 2007 product.  The current setup is an Exchange 2000 "front-end" server in the DMZ for OWA and 2 Exchange 2000 servers in the LAN.  One LAN server is primary and the other is in "standby" mode with no Exchange services running.  It just receives nightly replication updates from a 3rd party piece of software.  Their IT manager purchased 2 new 64-bit servers with Windows 2003 Enterprise and Exchange 2007 Enterprise.  He would like to implement a cluster with the 2 new servers.  I am unsure of the best deployment method and what server roles should be used.  It appears that when you choose the cluster option, all other server roles are grayed out.  What roles actually get installed on the clustered boxes?  What will take the place of the "front-end" server in the DMZ?

Thanks,

Doug (echotester)
Post #: 1
RE: Exchange 2000 -> Exchange 2007 Transition - 19.Aug.2008 11:04:41 AM   
mark@mvps.org

You are no longer allowed to have anything in the DMZ except for the Edge role which is something that transmits messages to and from the Internet. It is an optional role and is not actually necessary for most deployments.