• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Exchange Server Forums

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

a question about the future...

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 2010] >> General >> a question about the future... Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
a question about the future... - 18.Dec.2010 7:21:31 PM   
jonin

hello all,

I am currently trying to complete an MCITP.

I have limited experience in sbs and exchange 2003. Though i work with 2003 i decided to complete the new MCITP for newer technologies.

So i am currently reading the ms press book on SBS2008
I wanted to start exchange server 2010 next year.

the question is:
am i waisting my time?

I have seen and been reading alot about exchange hosted services.
it seems like microsoft and other companies are hosting exchange cheaper and cheaper.

Is the cloud going to render in house company servers obsolete?
I was also reading an article on exchange vs gmail...and gmail won hands down.
i have come here to ask the pro's their vision for the future.

is there something im missing?

i dont want to spend a lot of time qualifying in something that wont benefit my career...and future.

i have always been fascinated with exchange and would love to do the course i was thinking about.

Please dont be biased in answering my question as all i am seeking is the truth.

thanks for reading
looking forward to your advice.

Jonin
Post #: 1
RE: a question about the future... - 18.Dec.2010 9:57:16 PM   
mark@mvps.org

For infrastructure people "the cloud" is the biggest load of nonsense you have ever heard since the last dumb marketing phrase. Servers have been "in the cloud" for years. What else do you call "somebody else's data centre"? What do you call "hosting"?