MS Exchange Distributed Mailboxes & Management (Full Version)

All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 2010] >> General

waheed71 -> MS Exchange Distributed Mailboxes & Management (6.Jun.2011 10:21:02 AM)

Dear All,

I am New to Exchange & wanted to discuss possibility of Exchange Deployment, is it possible in MS Exchange 2007 or Exchange 2010 that I can install Single DC and MS Exchange at my site & can move around 40-50 mailboxes from same forest (xyz.com) to my local exchange server & in future I can Create or Delete Users from my own console rather than calling Central IT staff who is already managing all services. The purpose of this excercise is to reduce bandwidth utilization in peak hours as most of the communication happens among these 40-50 users and if someone is sending big attachment, in this way, Outlook have to download everytime.By doing so I assume that I will save in bandwidth and can help my users in better way.

Please be noted that we have ADC installed here and just planning to deploy exchange server only.

mark@mvps.org -> RE: MS Exchange Distributed Mailboxes & Management (6.Jun.2011 10:29:37 AM)

Spending money on distributed Exchange servers for a tiny number of people is a conversation for you and your managers. If you have a box out there that you are using as a Hyper-V or ESX host then sure, stand up a little Exchange server and you're good to go. If you have to deploy dedicated hardware that's a big decision.

Personally I'd leave everything centralized and make sure Cached Mode is active for all clients. That won't help Internet browsing or file shares if you drive them through a central office but email clients won't be concerned.

waheed71 -> RE: MS Exchange Distributed Mailboxes & Management (6.Jun.2011 1:32:01 PM)

Dear Mark, Thanks for the reply and exactly I am planning to stand Exchange on Hyper V, but I dont know steps and which Exchange Role needs to be installed so looking for proper terminologies and help.