• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Exchange Server Forums

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Mailbox size question

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 2010] >> General >> Mailbox size question Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Mailbox size question - 1.Nov.2011 7:33:29 AM   
ongong

Hi,

I am new to Exchange box.
I have the below question, it would be highly appreciated if someone can help

what is the max. size of a user mailbox in Exchange 2010.
(eg: 20GB per user...etc)

And I know that if user use Outlook to connect to Exchange 2010, there would be a .ost/.pst file created in user computer, which is a mailbox copy for off-line access, however, as I know, in Outlook 2003, the .ost/.pst file have a limitation of 20GB. So if the user mailbox in the server exceed 20G, say 30G, then will it caused "Oversize" error in their Outlook 2003.

Thanks in advance

< Message edited by ongong -- 1.Nov.2011 7:37:41 AM >
Post #: 1
RE: Mailbox size question - 1.Nov.2011 12:20:21 PM   
Danofre

An Exchange 2010 MBX DB size can be 2 TB.
The max limit for quotas on any one given MBX can be: 2,147,483,647 KB. Therefore the largest mailbox size can be 2 TB.
The client side cache or OST file depends on the client side version. With 2003 you will see issue above 2 GB.
Outlook 2010 will allow for any folder having 100,000 items and a PST/OST that is preconfigured for 50 GB. You can adjust this up or down in the registry.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/982577

(in reply to ongong)
Post #: 2
RE: Mailbox size question - 2.Nov.2011 5:49:41 AM   
kathiny