• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Exchange Server Forums

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Exchange auditing logs "Access is denied (5)"

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 2007] >> Compliance >> Exchange auditing logs "Access is denied (5)" Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Exchange auditing logs "Access is denied (5)" - 11.Feb.2013 12:04:13 PM   
RustyShackleford

I just enabled auding of mailbox folder access. The log entries are successfully created and I can see them. However, my co-workder cannot. When he tries to access the Exchange auditing log he gets "Event viewer cannot open the event log or custom view. Verify the Event log service is running or query is too long. Access is denied (5)."

We are both domain admins. However, I am an Exchange Org admin and he is not. Bing \ Google provided little help. However, the only useful hit I found did specifically mention being an Exchange Org Admin.

I find it quite surprising that someone must be an Exchange Org Admin to see these specific logs. Our compliance officer will need to see these logs but I cannot give him high level Exchange admin rights.

Is there another way to provide access to Exchange auditing logs?

Thank you
Post #: 1
RE: Exchange auditing logs "Access is denied (5)&q... - 25.Feb.2013 3:45:12 AM   
richardjenson7

Hi
It seems to be windows permission problem.
Your user should be in admin group on target server.

take a look at this link

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/nb-NO/exchangesvradmin/thread/a65eceef-4a1a-4ab4-a2e0-816123bb23b3

< Message edited by zbnet -- 1.Jul.2013 2:06:06 AM >

(in reply to RustyShackleford)
Post #: 2
RE: Exchange auditing logs "Access is denied (5)&q... - 4.Mar.2013 8:09:00 PM   
RustyShackleford

Richard,