• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Exchange Server Forums

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Environment Audit?

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 5.5] >> General >> Environment Audit? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Environment Audit? - 22.Feb.2001 12:12:00 AM   
casey

I've taken over as net admin on a network with 2 Exchange 5.5 servers running on Windows NT 4.0. I've been thrown into the fire and need to produce a general audit of the messaging environment. What type of things should I be looking for? Disk space? Memory? I am fairly new to Exchange 5.5 which is the understanding of my supervisors but I am still required to gather as much data as possible. I would appreciate any thoughts no matter how basic. Thanks
Post #: 1
RE: Environment Audit? - 22.Feb.2001 10:36:00 AM   
Bear

Ok. Do you have something like MSSMS, or HP Openview running on the network? If not you're going to have to collect most of this information. If I was asked to perform this type of audit, These are the things I would give.

1. Physical Machine Specs
1.1 I would then compare these to MS recommended Exchange 5.5 Hardware specs as a comparision. I have learnt that if you to something like this, and you don't give management something to compare it too, they don't know what they're looking at. (You might even get some new hardware))

2. Size of the MDBDATA, Priv and Pub.edb.

2.1 % of pysical space used vs available, as used by MDBData ( I usually expect my mail store to double in size every year, so keep this in mind if you don't have mail box restrictions in place, SO PLAN AHEAD ;-))

3. Mail box resources used.