• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Exchange Server Forums

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Internet mail problem....

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 2000] >> General >> Internet mail problem.... Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Internet mail problem.... - 30.Oct.2001 3:06:00 AM   
ckoster

Hi All,

I'm having a problem recieving internet mail to my server. I'm a newbie at Exchange so this may be a pretty basic question. First off, here is the setup:

Windows 2000 Server running SBS 2000.
Exchange 2000 installed and not writing any errors to the event logs.
IIS is running and not writing any errors to the event log.
Can send internal emails between client machines and server with no problem.
Can telnet port 25 successfully.
Changed my MX record on the external DNS server to point to the external interface of my machine.

The problem is when I send email from outside of my domain (i.e. hotmail or yahoo mail) I get the following message:

Message from yahoo.com.
Unable to deliver message to the following address(es).

<test@67.164.12.25>:
67.164.12.25 does not like recipient.
Remote host said: 550 5.7.1 Unable to relay for test@67.164.12.25
Giving up on 67.164.12.25.

NOTE: I'm using the IP address instead of the domain name in the email addy as I just changed the MX record to point to my box this weekend and I'm not sure if the changes have fully taken effect yet.

Anyone have any ideas on what the problem is? I've seen a few other similar questions in this forum but haven't come across a definate answer yet.

Some ideas I have:

1) I've read about the IMS (Internet Messaging Service?) in some forum messages. I don't see this service running on my machine. Is this necessary to be able to get internet mail?