• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Exchange Server Forums

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Maybe sending tons of spam...

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 2000] >> Server Security >> Maybe sending tons of spam... Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Maybe sending tons of spam... - 23.Apr.2004 11:17:00 AM   
c0p0n

First of all: I am a Linux admin that has been given a windows 2k server machine for administration only a week ago. On this week I was learning a bit the windows servers way, but without doing anything dangerous on the machine (I did all my tryings with a fake server) just because it was running ok. My knowledge of the Win2k server environment is a bit young but I have many years of experience admin'ng Unix servers (specially Linux and FreeBSD) so I think that I could take the points here.

Ok. The business. The exchange server is eating the whole upstream bandwidth, it's that simple. It seems that it is sending a bunch of email, but I see nothing on the queue folder.

The server has installed MailEssentials 9.0 for spam checking, monitoring the SMTP link. It runs fairly good (although I am planning a migration to SpamAssasin, but I am not in a hurry), and I can see on its monitor all emails that are being sent and received. Ok, but not the junk traffic the exchange server is generating. It is using smtp, but I cannot see any message anywhere with this.

After that, I sniffed the machine communications through Ethereal, to find the SMTP traffic. It was going to this ip:

204.251.10.82 ---> iris2.directnic.com

As the whole upstream was caught, no downstream was available to anyone so I blocked all communication with that IP. For a while, it ran well, but after a short amount of time the thing began to communicate through SMTP with: