• RSS
  • Twitter
  • FaceBook

Exchange Server Forums

Forums | Register | Login | My Profile | Inbox | RSS RSS icon | My Subscription | My Forums | Address Book | Member List | Search | FAQ | Ticket List | Log Out

Outlook Web Access hacking

Users viewing this topic: none

Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Microsoft Exchange 2000] >> Outlook Web Access >> Outlook Web Access hacking Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Outlook Web Access hacking - 29.Apr.2003 8:01:00 PM   
JAGDCBS

(I am not a techie, as you'll clearly see from this message) How can I tell if someone not authorized to view emails is using Web Access to hack into my email account? I would ask my admin, but I think he may be the one doing it...
Post #: 1
RE: Outlook Web Access hacking - 30.Apr.2003 1:21:00 AM   
indyjeep1974

Do you think it's malicious? The only reason I ask is because admins and people with admin rights most likely have access to your mailbox. For instance I work for a company that works with the medical field. Because of the new HIPAA law that went into effect on April 14, 2003 we monitor some of our employee mailboxes. Remember that company email is property of the company most of the time and not considered personal unless it's stated as such in your computer use policy. In other words the admin has all the right in the world to 'hack' into your email account if he sees fit. If you're worried about people viewing personal email use something free like hotmail or yahoo.

(in reply to JAGDCBS)
Post #: 2
RE: Outlook Web Access hacking - 30.Apr.2003 1:50:00 PM   
cemtur

Do you think hotmail or yahoo are not monitoring your mails? I think those public mail servers are monitored by their administrators, even by government agents etc... Probably some yahoo/hotmail admins are following some messages just for fun in their spare times.

(in reply to JAGDCBS)
Post #: 3
RE: Outlook Web Access hacking - 30.Apr.2003 8:10:00 PM   
Jesse